We use cookies to give you the best possible experience. By continuing, we'll assume you're on board with our cookie policy

Accept and Close
The MAC Belfast - exterior image shot - black and white

Our Artist in Residence space is a unique facility that brings international, national and home-grown artists from a range of genres to the MAC.


Igniting creative collaboration with the MAC’s artistic partners, audiences and local communities, the Artist in Residence programme is helping to shape the cultural landscape in Northern Ireland. 

We are pleased to welcome writer, illustrator and broadcaster John Patrick Higgins to the MAC Artist in Residence space until June 2018. 

Photograph of John Patrick Higgins, wearing a black shirt and looking directly at the camera.

Current Artist in Residence

Current Artist in Residence: John Patrick Higgins

John Patrick Higgins is a writer, illustrator and broadcaster. He has written for Culture Northern Ireland, The View, Culturehub, The Belfast Telegraph and The Holborn. As Creative Director of Shot Glass Theatre he wrote and produced ten plays in four years. Credits include: Over by Christmas for Wireless Mystery Theatre. Dec 14. Voices Off. Shot Glass Theatre. April 2015. Prick! Belfast Film Festival. April 2016. I Yam what I Yam. Lunchbox Theatre. July 2016.  Aug. 2016.  Veal and Ham Pie Island. Accidental Theatre. November 2016. Bluebeard's Ghost. Edinburgh Festival. Aug 2017. He also contributed to Anna Leckey's Date Show at the MAC in February 2018.   

Originally written for the Edinburgh Festival his recent play Every Day I Wake up Hopeful was staged at the MAC as part of Edgefest with Prime Cut Productions.

Previous Artists in Residence

Here's a list of our previous artists in residence at the MAC since we opened in 2012.

  • Anna Leckey: Jan - March 2018
  • Samantha Porciello: Winter 2017
  • Carol Moore: July-Aug 2017
  • Oona Doherty: June 2017
  • Shannon Sickels (Yee): Spring 2017
  • Clare Dwyer-Hogg: Winter 2016-17
  • AMINI (Artist's Moving Image Northern Ireland): Autumn 2016
  • Conor Mitchell: Summer 2016 
  • Katie Richardson: Summer 2016
  • David Lyttle: Spring 2016
  • Gerard Gormley: Winter 2015
  • Leonie McDonagh: Spring 2015
  • Fionnuala Fagan: Winter 2014
  • Patrick J O’Reilly: Spring 2014
  • Damian Gorman: Spring 2013
  • Conor Mitchell: Winter 2012
  • Jimmy McAleavey: Autumn 2012
  • Sonic Arts Research Centre (SARC): Spring 2012